Acknowledgments

We would like to express special thanks to Ms. Aruna Sharma for sparing her time with us and providing insightful observations. We thank Ms. Rashmi Arun Shami, Shri Shiv Shekhar Sukla and Shri Neeraj Mandloi for sharing with us their experiences and helping us in getting access to the villages. We would like to thank Ms. Roohi Khan, Shri A. K. Singh, Shri Ved Prakash and Shri Vikas Mishra for their support and assistance whenever we needed it. We would like to render our sincere thanks to Ms. Sanjana Jain for her help, assistance and support at the time when we needed it the most. We would like to thank Shri Rajeev Saxena for his support especially on financial issues. We express our sincere thanks to the officials at the districts, especially Shri Deepak Singh, Shri Rakesh Singh, Shri D. S. Randa, Shri Shashank Misra and others namely Shri Dinesh Dhoka, Shri L. S. Tawar and Shri Akhilesh Dwibedi for their help on off days/odd hours of the day. We are thankful to other members of the Council such as Shri Ovais Ahmed, Shri M. K. Paliwal, Shri R.K. Gupta, Shri Sunil Mehta and Ms. Sandhya for their help.

We would like to express our sincere appreciation for the encouragement of Dr. N. Ravichandran. His leadership, both academic and professional, is an inspiration, and his belief that we could complete this project has sustained our effort throughout the course of this study. We would like to thank Shri Arbind Viswakarma for his ever-ready attitude and support.

With deep appreciation, we would like to thank all those who have contributed to this study.

Indore July 27, 2012 Project Team Indian Institute of Management Indore